Chelwood Nursery School

Governing Body Structure


Reconstituted                                                            4 February 2015

Governor places                                                                   12


Headteacher                                                                         1

Staff                                                                                        1

Appointed by the London Borough of Lewisham         1

Elected parents of pupils attending the school             2

Co-opted                                                                            7


Chair of the Governing Body          Jane Smith

Vice Chair                                                 Stella Jeffrey



 The Governing Body operates one main committee:

 Resources Committee (Chair:  Stella Jeffrey)

(The All Purposes Committee was abolished in December 2014 when the Resources Committee was established.)

There are also some minor committees that meet: Personnel, Finance, Curriculum and Safeguarding and Pupil Welfare. These only meet periodically and feed into the Resources Committee.


Pupil Discipline / Staff Grievance / Staff Discipline / Staff Discipline Appeal / Pay Appeal / Complaints Panels

These meet as and when required, with a minimum of three eligible governors, who are selected according to the following criteria:

  • The three members can be selected based on suitability in terms of experience, balance (gender, race) and availability
  • If it was regarding a staff member no staff member on the committee
  • If it was regarding a child then no parent member on the committee
  • If four members were available then they would be chosen in alphabetical order

Meet our Governors