Planning the Curriculum at Chelwood

In each class, the class teachers leads the team in planning the curriculum around the needs and interests of the children with close reference to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).

The EYFS is organises the curriculum into PRIME and SPECIFIC areas with the Prime areas forming the foundation of all learning that follows.

The PRIME areas of learning are:-

  • Personal Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language Development

The SPECIFIC areas are:

  • Mathematical development
  • Literacy
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Plans usually last for half a term (approximately six weeks). Each class also plans for a story and music theme, and a focus for the Show and Tell sessions, for the week. Every evening the class teams plan the activities for the following day with reference to the half term plan and their observations of the children’s needs and interests.

All plans are subject to change as they follow the children’s needs and interests and thus provide a personalised curriculum.